About us

Welcome to the official website of the Nigeria Safety Award for Excellence Hall of Fame (9jaSAFE).

9jaSAFE is the nation’s most-prestigious award set up to recognise outstanding commitment of organisations, individuals/groups, and professional institutions towards promoting and raising safety consciousness.

The annual award, a brainchild of Safety Record newspaper, Nigeria’s premier HSE publication, was instituted in 2015 as a humble contribution towards recognising and rewarding initiatives promoting workplace safety.

The award enjoys the endorsement of leading safety stakeholders in Nigeria – Institute of Safety Professionals of Nigeria (ISPON), Lagos State Safety Commission (LSC), Society for Occupational and Environmental Health Physicians of Nigeria (SOEHPON), World Safety Organisation (WSO), and American Society of Safety Professionals (ASSP).

Over 170 industry professionals attended the maiden edition of the Award Dinner in 2015. In 2016 nominations were received from 15 states across the nation with 345 nominees from different sectors of the economy, while 220 professionals / company

representatives attended the Gala Night at the Lagos Oriental Hotel. In 2017, over 600 nominations were received from 22 states across the nation and over 250 attendees attended the Award Dinner to network and celebrate success. Over 700 safety professionals, institutions and organisations were nominated for the 2018 edition of the award and 280 persons graced the Dinner that has been described as the “grandest” in the award’s four-year history. All 9jaSAFE editions have been hosted by A-list Nigerian comedian SEYI LAW at the prestigious Lagos Oriental Hotel